Tuesday, 11 October 2016

Book Review - Dan And Nat Got Married by Jon Rance - Blog Tour

Amazon UK
Title:  Dan and Nat Got Married
Author: Jon Rance
Format reviewed: Ebook
Source: Author supplied review copy
Publisher: Self Published
Publication Date: 4th October
Rating: 4 Stars

From the bestselling author of This Thirtysomething Life, Happy Endings and Sunday Dinners, comes a brilliantly funny romantic comedy, perfect for fans of Love Actually, Notting Hill and Bridget Jones. 

Marriage can be difficult. Especially when you've only just met. Meet Dan Fox, 34, an online marketing manager from Clapham, who was jilted at the altar two years ago by the love of his life and hasn’t dated since. 

Nat Howard, 32, is living back at home with her parents in Dorking after her perfect boyfriend dumped her and she had to move out of his bespoke flat in Putney. 

On separate Stag and Hen weekends in Las Vegas, Dan and Nat wake up married. Both too drunk to remember what happened, they return to England and try to get on with their lives. But there was something about Nat that makes the usually cautious Dan think they should give their marriage a go. Nat’s still in love with her Ex, but maybe Dan can help mend her broken heart. 

Can marriage between two relative strangers really work? And when Nat's ex-boyfriend - the gorgeous Charlie - comes back into her life, she must decide - something old or something new? 

Set in London, Dan And Nat Got Married, is a funny and full of heart modern romantic comedy about marriage, relationships, and giving love a second chance.

How would you react if you woke up next to a stranger in your bed, one you have no recollection of? It may have happened to lots of you after a drunken night out. However have you ever woken up with a stranger in your bed, in Las Vegas and suddenly realising you both have wedding rings too? 

Well that is how Dan and Nat Got Married begins, with some out of character realisation that they may both have done something very foolish the night before.  And yet after a meeting in London where they are intending to discuss the divorce they both agree is going to be required, things go rather differently than planned, and it leads Dan to suggest they attempt to make a go of their marriage. 

As they get to know each other properly, it becomes apparent they are both carrying significant baggage into this relationship, in addition to various other temptations too. 

Their friends are really encouraging, but they may have an ulterior motive. 

What it is safe to say is this is a story with a lot of laughs in it, there are ups and downs, and its all about two strangers learning to make the most of what was a drunken situation. As friends and families are introduced, exes arrive back on the scene, they have to decide just how much they can trust each other, and whether what has started as an interesting decision can really be love. 

This is the first book I have read by Jon Rance and defini-Nat-ley won't be the last, and I can see exactly why he has been compared to Matt Dunn and Mike Gayle. Very similar sorts of humour and themes, and great to see believable male and female characters. The lads scenes felt very realistic when Dan was out with his mate Adam, and I loved Ells Belles with Nat. 

The chapters alternate between Dan and Nat, with only a small overlap in some cases as the action is moved forward. I found it quite easy to follow the story, with both of the characters written in the first person, and with a really enjoyable writing style. 

I really enjoyed Dan and Nat Got Married, and with such an amusing premise, its a marginally bizarre story, but could so easily be a true story, after all life is stranger than fiction!

Thank you so much to Jon Rance for this review copy. This was my honest opinion. 

1 comment:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...