Tuesday, 12 December 2017

Book Review - Girl In Trouble by Rhoda Baxter

Amazon UK
Title: Girl In Trouble
Author: Rhoda Baxter
Format reviewed: Ebook
Source: Author supplied copy
Publisher: Self Published
Publication Date: 7th October 2017
Rating: 5 Stars

Olivia doesn't want kids. Walter does. Is this an argument Olivia can afford to lose? 

Grown up tomboy Olivia doesn't need a man to complete her. Judging by her absent father, men aren't that reliable anyway. She's got a successful career, good friends and can evict spiders from the bath herself, so she doesn't need to settle down, thanks.

Walter's ex is moving his daughter to America and Walter feels like he's losing his family. When his friend-with-benefits, Olivia, discovers she's pregnant by her douchebag ex, Walter sees the perfect chance to be part of a family with a woman he loves. Can Walter persuade the most independent woman he's ever met to accept his help, let alone his heart?

Girl In Trouble is the third book in the award nominated Smart Girls series by Rhoda Baxter. If you like character driven romance, alpha heroines and sparkling dialogue, you'll love this series. Ideal for fans of Sarah Morgan, Lindsey Kelk or Meg Cabot's Boy books. Buy now and meet your new favourite heroine today.

What started off as a book that was light hearted and fun, turned into something that was simply marvellous, and with the level of attachment I had to the characters, I had a lump in my throat for a large amount of the last fifth or so, and practically in tears for some of that. 

It's just that the characters really got under my skin, I really cared about what happened to them, which is the sign of a great author, and fantastic writing. I wanted continually to know what would happen next,  and actually a fair amount of this book I wouldn't have predicted at the start which is also good. 

I absolutely loved getting to know both Olivia, and her tomboyish ways and also Walter who seems like a good guy and clearly loves his daughter even though he can't see her that often. 

During the book they both go through some rather large and life changing events, as well as getting to know each other a lot better.  From the rather hilarious entrance that Walter makes, to his text conversations with best friend Lawrence, and the way he is with Emily, I was building up the picture of a rather great guy, with just a slight (ok rather large) phobia. 

Olivia though is best man at her best friends wedding and we first meet her at the stag do, in some classic scenes, with great banter, and the whole time you get the feeling she loves being one of the lads, and she has distinct opinions on what she wants from life. But whether its time for those opinions to change, well you will need to read for yourself to find out! 

I absolutely loved every second of Girl In Trouble, its witty in places and utterly emotional at other times, and it deals with some deeper issues too, which gives it added depth that may be unexpected from the gorgeousness of the cover. 

I've read a few books by this author now and I can say without a doubt that the books are getting better and better, and that I really can't wait to read Lawrence's story in Girl at Christmas. 

Thank you to Rhoda Baxter for this copy which I reviewed honestly and voluntarily. 

1 comment:

  1. Thank you so much! I'm really glad you liked it. Olivia is one my favourite characters (shh. Don't tell the others).


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...