Thursday, 21 May 2015

Book Review - Someone Out There by Catherine Hunt

Amazon UK
Title: Someone Out There
Author: Catherine Hunt
Format reviewed: Ebook
Source: Netgalley
Publisher: Killer Reads
Publication Date: 21st May 2015
Rating: 4 Stars


A story of obsession, revenge and deceit, of a woman caught up in terrifying circumstances. Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train, by Paula Hawkins, Into the Darkest Corner, by Elizabeth Haynes, and The Lie, by C L Taylor.

Laura Maxwell appears to have it all – perfect career, perfect husband, perfect life. But how well do you really know the people around you? All it takes is one tiny crack to shatter the whole fa├žade.

A series of accidents causes Laura to believe that someone out there is deliberately targeting her, trying to harm her. The fear starts to pervade every part of her life, affecting her work and her marriage. Increasingly, she feels that no one believes her story, and she must face down her attacker alone.

Laura Maxwell is a high powered divorce lawyer, with what appears to be a perfect life. As you would expect in her line of work, she is likely to have made some enemies in her time, and thus there are plenty of possible suspects when it looks like someone may be trying to harm her. 

Laura becomes increasingly convinced that someone is out to get her, and she has some ideas who, but trying to get her husband or the police to take her seriously is very hard work. 

The book starts with Laura getting a sense of foreboding about a monster of a 4x4 trying to chase her down, and the first chapter is a thrilling high speed chase that really draws you in, and takes you right into the action. It does become obvious during this, that there is somebody wanting to either scare her, or kill her. 

The view points move between Laura, Anna one of her clients whose case is fascinating, and Harry, the soon to be ex-husband of Anna. As the story moves on, I was becoming more and more shocked at some of the revelations. At one point I had to put my kindle down for a moment to absorb a hidden piece of information that I didn't see coming at all.

I really felt for Laura, and could feel her fear, and the slight paranoia that was starting to emanate from her. The boss at the law firm that she work s for seems to skirt around moral issues with some regards, and I found myself wishing that Laura would quit her job just to get away from the guy. 

Someone Out There is good thriller, but I felt it slowed down a bit on places, and it didn't always hold my interest like I thought it would. I still enjoyed the story, and there were some great sections, and the book has a clever idea behind it. 

This is a solid debut book from an author with a promising future. 

Thank you to Netgalley and Catherine Hunt for a review copy of this book. This is my honest review. 

Happy Publication day to Catherine Hunt. Someone Out There is out today!

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...